

2022 Emerging Scholar Award Recipient



Brad DesnoyerIndiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law

The Board of Directors of the Legal Writing Institute (LWI) is delighted to announce that Professor Brad Desnoyer is the recipient of the 2022 Emerging Scholar Award. The Board created this award in 2019 to help foster a new generation of scholars in our field. The award is limited to a professor's first or second full-length, published article on legal writing or pedagogy.

Professor Desnoyer is receiving the award for *E-Memos 2.0: An Empirical Study of How Attorneys Write*, 25 J. Legal Writing 213 (2021), his second full-length law review article relating to legal writing doctrine. In the article, Professor Desnoyer builds on the existing scholarship recognizing that 1) email is now a practicing lawyer's primary means of communicating legal analysis; and 2) this means that the legal writing classroom should offer students training on how to draft effective E-memos. But while the existing scholarship offers an evolving set of "best practices" for teaching E-memos, there is little data to inform the questions presented—how long and in-depth? how formal? how many citations? And this is where the article makes

its fine contribution: it reports on the results of an empirical study, designed by Professor Desnoyer, that sought to identify what, exactly, the modern practicing lawyer expects in a well-drafted E-memo. Some results might surprise: respondents in the study generally preferred E-memos that offered in-depth analysis over summations. (Less surprising: attorneys over forty had the highest preference for E-memos that approximate traditional written legal memos). To learn more about the study design and Professor Desnoyer's statistical analysis and interpretation of the data, the paper is available here.

The LWI Board is grateful for the work of the LWI Awards Committee in identifying nominees and making recommendations to the Board. The Committee includes Chair Brenda Gibson, and members Andrew Carter, Janet Dickson, Samantha Moppett, Dyane O'Leary, Suzanne Rowe, and Mark Wojcik.

We look forward to celebrating Professor Desnoyer's accomplishment along with the other LWI award winners this year. We will let everyone know once the details are finalized.

