



Thomas F. Blackwell Award: Call for Nominations for 2023 Recipient

The 2022-2023 ALWD/LWI Blackwell Award Committee invites nominations for one of the most prestigious awards in legal writing, the Thomas F. Blackwell Memorial Award for Outstanding Achievement in the Field of Legal Writing. The winner will be announced in Fall 2022, and the award will be presented at the AALS Annual Meeting in January 2023. A plaque, listing the winners, is on display at Appalachian Law School.

2023 Blackwell Award Criteria, Submission Instructions and Information, Deadline, and Eligibility

A. Criteria:

This award was created to honor the life of Thomas F. Blackwell for his personal and professional qualities as a legal writing educator. Professor Blackwell taught legal writing from 1997 to 2002. In that time, Professor Blackwell made a significant impact on the field of legal writing, both at his home institution and nationwide. The award recognizes a person who, like Professor Blackwell, has made an outstanding contribution to improve the field of legal writing by demonstrating:

- 1. an ability to nurture and motivate students to excellence;
- 2. a willingness to help other Legal Writing educators improve their teaching skills or their Legal Writing Programs; and
- 3. an ability to create and integrate new ideas for teaching and motivating Legal Writing educators and students.

B. Submission Instructions, Information, and Deadline:

- 1. Nominations should explicitly address each of the three award criteria. Although there may be overlap, nominations are most likely to be successful if they are organized around the three criteria rather than following the more traditional organization of service, scholarship, and teaching. The committee looks forward to specific examples and personal insights. The nomination should include all information that directly supports the listed criteria and assume the committee has no prior knowledge of any given candidate.
- 2. A list of signatories is less persuasive than specific statements from individuals illustrating how the nominee meets each of the three criteria.

- 3. Because the Blackwell Award recognizes the recipient's outstanding contributions to the field and is not designed as a lifetime achievement award, we welcome nominations of persons at any stage of their teaching careers. The Blackwell Award Committee will, though, consider contributions over the course of the nominee's career.
- 4. The Blackwell Award Committee reminds everyone of LWI's and ALWD's commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion; and the committee seeks to identify a deep and diverse pools of nominees. We especially encourage the nominations of women, people of color, and members of other traditionally under-represented groups.
- 5. A candidate's C.V. should be included as part of the nomination. However, please do not include files such as a tenure packet or similar files, particularly if they may contain confidential data. It is most helpful to the committee when the nominator highlights the candidate's achievements in the nomination letter.
- 6. Nominations are welcome for previously nominated candidates; the nomination and its supporting materials should be re-submitted as the Committee does not retain previously submitted materials.
- 7. The deadline for submitting nominations is **Sept. 23, 2022,** at 11:59 p.m. Pacific Daylight Savings Time.
- 8. Nominations are confidential. Send nominations directly to the attention of Kim Holst and Laura Graham, Committee Chairs, at kimberly.holst@asu.edu and grahamlp@wfu.edu. Please include "Blackwell nomination" in the subject line.

C. Eligibility:

Previous Blackwell Award recipients, members of the Blackwell Award Committee, and current and newly elected members of the LWI and ALWD governing boards are not eligible for this year's award. The names of those persons are listed in the chart below.

Previous Recipients	Blackwell Award	Current ALWD Officers	Current LWI Officers
	Committee	and Directors	and Directors
Richard Neumann	Lisa Blackwell Wan	Laura Graham (Immediate	Kim Holst (Immediate
(2003)		Past President)	Past President)
Pamela Lysaght (2004)	Brad Clary	Rebekah Hanley	Susie Salmon
		(President)	(President)
Ralph Brill (2005)	Rachel Croskery-	Rachel Croskery-Roberts	Abigail Perdue
	Roberts	(President-elect)	(President-elect)
Mary Beth Beazley	Laura Graham	Tenielle Fordyce-Ruff	Carolyn Williams
(2006)		(Secretary)	(Treasurer)
Diana Pratt (2008)	Rebekah Hanley	David Krech (Treasurer)	Kristen Murray
			(Secretary)
Linda Edwards (2009)	Kim Holst	Bob Brain	Heather Baxter (Comm.
			& PR Officer)
Steve Johansen (2010)	Abigail Perdue	David Cleveland	Brad Desnoyer
Carol McCrehan Parker	Terry Pollman	Sha-Shana Crichton	Adam Eckart
(2011)	Terry Tomman	Sha-Sharia Chefiton	Adam Eckart
Suzanne E. Rowe (2012)	Susie Salmon	Jane Cross	Joe Fore
Suzarine E. Rowe (2012)	Susie Samion	Jane Cross	joe roie
Judy Stinson (2013)	Craig Smith	Olympia Duhart	Iselin Gambert
Jan M. Levine (2014)		Jessica Gunder	Wendy-Adele
			Humphrey
Helene S. Shapo (2015)		Dyane O'Leary	Lucy Jewel
Coleen M. Barger (2016)		Bonny Tavares	Anne Ralph
Melissa H. Weresh			Wayne Schiess
(2017) Ian Gallacher (2018)			Amy Soled
Terry Pollman (2019)			
Brad Clary (2020)			
Teri McMurtry-Chubb (2021)			
Craig Smith (2022)			