Mary S. Lawrence Award

The Mary S. Lawrence Award recognizes an individual for a combination of pioneering scholarship and innovative curriculum or program design. The award may be presented every other year at the biennial conference of the Legal Writing Institute or at another appropriate event.

The award is named for Professor Emerita Mary S. Lawrence, longtime Director of the Legal Writing and Research Program at the University of Oregon School of Law and an early Chair of the Association of American Law Schools Section on Legal Writing, Reasoning, and Research. For her scholarship and her pioneering work in legal writing education, Mary received the first Distinguished Service Award from the AALS Section on Legal Writing, Reasoning, and Research; the inaugural Marjorie Rombauer Award from the Association of Legal Writing Directors; a joint LWI/ALWD Lifetime Achievement Award; and the Burton Award for Outstanding Contributions to Legal Writing Education.

In the spirit of recognizing the many individuals who make significant contributions to the field of legal writing, the LWI Awards Committee welcomes nominees who have not already received other LWI or legal writing awards. Members of the LWI Board of Directors and the LWI Awards Committee are ineligible for nomination until at least one year after completing their service.

Recipient of the Mary S. Lawrence Award

The first recipient of the Mary S. Lawrence Award was Christopher Rideout of the Seattle University School of Law. Chris received the award at the November 2010 Symposium sponsored by the Legal Writing Journal as part of the ongoing celebration of the Legal Writing Institute’s 25th anniversary.