Each year, ALWD and LWI jointly sponsor a national survey of legal writing programs. The survey collects data on program design, curriculum, salary, workload, and status issues. Almost all law schools in the U.S. participate in these surveys.

The ALWD-LWI 2014-2015 Survey Report is now complete!

Committee Members:

  • Meredith Aden
  • Ted Becker
  • Alyssa Dragnich
  • Raul Fernandez-Calienes
  • Kristin Knudsen
  • Gail Mullins        
  • Pete Nemerovski
  • Dyane O’Leary 
  • Judy Rosenbaum            
  • Marci Rosenthal              
  • Susie Salmon    
  • Jodi Wilson

Over the past two decades, ALWD and LWI have jointly conducted this annual survey to gather information about LRW programs and LRW faculty.  This information allows us to better understand the evolution of our field and to support arguments in favor of strengthening the legal writing curriculum and improving the citizenship rights of legal writing faculty. 

With a 95% response rate, the 2014-2015 Survey Report reflects the highest response rate the survey has ever received!  Achieving this outstanding response rate and producing the polished, detailed survey report is an arduous and time-consuming task undertaken by the Survey Administration Subcommittee of the Survey Committee, led by co-chairs George Mader and Judy Rosenbaum. The Survey Administration Subcommittee included Brooke Bowman, Alyssa Dragnich, Elizabeth Frost, Marci Rosenthal, and Gail Mullins.  The LWI and ALWD Boards are grateful to Survey Administration Subcommittee members for their diligent work, and we hope that you will let them know that you are grateful as well.

As you may recall, another subcommittee of the Survey Committee has undertaken a substantial overhaul of the existing survey.  Accordingly, the 2014-2015 survey was the last survey administered under the original methodology, developed in the 1990s.  Beginning this year, ALWD and LWI will administer a new version of the Survey with new questions and new methodology.  This overhaul has been a significant undertaking, requiring the efforts of many people over several years, including Meredith Aden, Ted Becker, Ben Bratman, Ken Chestek, Jan Levine, Peter Nemerovski, Michael Oeser, Judy Rosenbaum, and Jodi Wilson.  We look forward to introducing the new survey to you soon.