9th Applied Legal Storytelling CFP

The planning committee for the 9th Biennial Applied Legal Storytelling Conference is pleased to send out this call for proposals. The conference will take place July 26 to 28, 2023 at The City Law School, City, University of London

Per usual there are two deadlines for proposals: December 2 (priority deadline) and February 3 (extended deadline). And per usual, we welcome people new to the discourse.

One-Day Workshops

LWI One-Day Workshops 2022

Arizona State University Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law, Thur., Dec. 1, virtual (MST) 
Teaching Social Justice and Legal Change in Legal Writing

Nova Southeastern University, Shepard Broad College of Law, Fri., Dec. 2, hybrid (Ft. Lauderdale, FL – EST)
Choose Your Own Adventure: Recharging and Recentering in the LRW Classroom 

Charleston School of Law, Fri., Dec. 9, in-person (Charleston, SC)
Time to Shine: Legal Skills and the NextGen Bar Exam

Case Western Reserve University School of Law, Fri. Dec. 9, virtual (EST)
Preparing Students for the Modern Practice of Law

University of Florida Levin College of Law, Sat. Dec. 10, in-person (Gainesville, FL)
Know Your Audience: Identifying Law Students’ Educational Needs and Developing Inclusive and Effective Teaching Strategies to Meet Them

Seattle University School of Law, Sat. Dec. 10, virtual (PST)
Teaching Values in the Legal Writing Classroom

Fordham Law School, Fri., Dec. 16, in-person (New York, NY)
Advancing Simulation-Based Pedagogy

If you have any questions, please feel free to email One-Day Workshop Committee Co-chair Susan Tanner.

2023 Blackwell Award Winner

ALWD and LWI are delighted to announce that the winner of the 2023 Thomas F. Blackwell Memorial Award for Outstanding Achievement in the Field of Legal Writing is Ruth Anne Robbins. We look forward to celebrating her achievements in January at the AALS Annual Meeting in San Diego. 

LWI New Teacher Training Bootcamp

Unable to attend the live event? No problem--we've got you covered! Register now for access to the recorded event and all of the materials shared by the presenters! 

Cost: $100


Join LWI

Become a General Member: Anyone who is interested in legal writing or the teaching of legal writing may subscribe to LWI's email distribution list. To learn more about LWI's publications, resources, conferences, and workshops, become a general member.

About Us

The Legal Writing Institute (LWI) is a nonprofit organization dedicated to improving legal communication. We believe that effective legal communication is critical to the wellbeing of society, the judicial system, and the legal profession.


Each year, ALWD and LWI jointly sponsor a national survey of legal writing programs. The survey collects data on program design, curriculum, salary, workload, and status issues. Almost all law schools in the U.S. participate in these surveys.

View The Surveys Archive

The Latest