Emerging Scholar

LWI presents this award biennially to a legal writing professor whose outstanding scholarship strengthens and builds our discipline.  The award will be presented at the LWI Conference or, if necessary, at a legal writing conference near the recipient.  With this award, we hope to foster a new generation of scholars while recognizing the rich diversity of our community. 

Unlike the Phelps Award, this award is limited to a professor’s first or second full-length, published article on legal writing doctrine or pedagogy.  Anyone can nominate an eligible candidate, and eligible candidates can nominate themselves.    The Awards Committee reviews the submissions and recommends an award recipient to the LWI Board based on the quality of the candidate’s scholarship.

In the spirit of recognizing the many individuals who make significant contributions to the field of legal writing, the committee especially encourages a diverse and inclusive pool of nominees.  Members of the LWI Board of Directors and the LWI Awards Committee are ineligible for nomination until at least one year after completing service.